Thing Three: Crocheted Market Bag

I haven't done much crocheting in a long time, either.  But crochet is like English to me.  I learned it young enough that it just comes naturally.  With knitting, I still have to learn something new with every project, or re-remind myself how to ssk or M1R or kitchener.  The language isn't imprinted in my brain.  Today, it was nice to pick up a project and know how to do it.  Overall, anyway.  I haven't actually made one of these before. 

I made this bag out of enough sock yarn to make a pair of socks.  About halfway through, I realized mine wasn't turning out like the one in the picture, so I stopped following the directions.  I tried to get a close up to show the detail.  It has strong vertical ribbing on the outside, and horizontal ribbing on the inside.  It's lot thicker and cuddlier than the string bag I was expecting (based on the picture and poor instructions).  As you can see, it's easily sturdy enough to carry my produce home from the farmers' market, or whatever else I need to carry.  Maybe not a bowling ball, but anything else.

Leave a comment